International Travel Writers Alliance Member logo

Album Review – Give Up the Ghost By Brandi Carlisle

brandi carlile give up the ghost album cover

Rolling Stone magazine once named Brandi Carlisle “Artist to Watch”. I think “Artist to Listen To” would be a better designation. To sum it up, this 28 year old Washington State native has both has a powerful voice, is a good songwriter, and is on her way to being female singer of the year.

About a week ago I received a copy of Brandi Carlisle’s newest album, Give Up the Ghost, to preview courtesy of the One2One Network. Instead of listening to my Sirius, I’ve been playing my copy all the time. It’s great. I can’t get the music out of my head. Columbia Records will be releasing her LA recorded album to the public October 6, 2009. Just wait until you hear its songs.

Give Up the Ghost comes on the heels of her debut Brandi Carlisle and its followup The Story. Ms. Carlisle’s third album took a year to write. I myself favor “Dreams” with its heartbeat backup. Brandi’s playful duet with Elton John, “Caroline”, is a wow. Romantics like me will be taken with the love letter, “Looking Out”, sung with Amy Ray. Many of the tracks like “Touching the Ground”, “Pride and Joy”, and “That Year” are truly compelling; however, the album is not uniformly strong.

Brandi Carlile’s collaboration with Twins Phil and Tim Hanseroth makes it all happen. The subtle backup orchestration, heartfelt well-constructed songs are the perfect backdrop for the sound music critics categorize as pop, rock, alternative, country, indie, and folk depending on the mood they are in.

Brandi candidly describes her work as time traveler songs that are metaphors for dying, growth, and transition. They certainly are ethereal and transcend life’s changes. A full listing of Give Up the Ghost’s material includes Looking Out, Dying Day, Pride and Joy, Dreams, That Year, Caroline, Before It Breaks, I Will, If There Was No You, Touching the Ground, and Oh Dear.

Me, right now I am going to take the time for another listen….

The album tracklisting includes:

  • Looking Out
  • Dying Day
  • Pride And Joy
  • Dreams
  • That Year
  • Caroline
  • Before It Breaks
  • I Will
  • If There Was No You
  • Touching The Ground
  • Oh Dear

If you like this as much as I do, click here to preorder the album.

The product(s) featured in this review was provided free of cost to me for the sole purpose of product testing. This review has not been monetarily compensated and is based on the views and opinions of my family and/or self. Please note that the opinions reflected in this post have not been influenced by the sponsor in any way.

4 thoughts on “Album Review – Give Up the Ghost By Brandi Carlisle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *