Here and There – A New Jersey Blogger on Family, Travel, Photography, Movie and Product Reviews Rotating Header Image

Scrabble Turbo Slam Review And Giveaway

Scrabble Turbo Slam

The original Scrabble is one of my favorite games so when I was asked to review Scrabble Slam (see 8/3/2010), I agreed. Recently Hasbro sent me Scrabble Turbo Slam, its electronic counterpart (three AAA batteries not included).

Scrabble Turbo Slam is a family game for 2-4 players aged 8+ that takes about 15 minutes to play. Scrabble Turbo Slam includes the electronic turbo unit with storage tray, 55 letter and blank cards, 12 action cards (Hyper gives other players cards; Mega allows player discards; Slam Dunk lets player give cards to another player; You Got Slammed, reversed Slam Dunk that penalizes player); and rules.

The game begins with a four letter word which players build on to make other four letter words one letter at a time. Letter cards are double sided so other players can see every hand. Victory goes to the first player to use his last card. Speed, vocabulary, and spelling skills separate the men from the boys both literally and figuratively. Listening, music and sound effects can be clues to help or distract and frustrate.

The adults playing preferred Classic Scrabble again. To us good mind games involve true strategy. This game is more suitable for elementary and middle school boys and girls and possibly playing tournaments. Each game moves very quickly.

Scrabble Turbo Slam is available at retailers nationwide including Target, Toys R Us, and Walmart, as well as online. Its SMRP is $19.99.

Also, Wednesday, September 28 is the first-ever Great Games Trade-In! Hasbro has partnered with Recyclebank to help families across the country responsibly dispose of their old, worn-out games. Throughout the month of September, visit FamilyGameNight.com to print up to $83 in coupons, as well as prepaid shipping labels to easily recycle your old games. You’ll learn how to recycle your old, worn-out games with Recyclebank to make plenty of room in your freshly cleaned game closet for brand spankin’ new games! The 22 Great Games Trade-In coupon offers can be redeemed at mass merchandise retailers nationwide through October 9.

WIN IT!

ONE winner will the Scrabble Turbo Slam game.

HOW TO ENTER. (MANDATORY)

To enter leave a comment on this post telling me what your favorite Hasbro game is.

BONUS ENTRIES – LOTS OF THEM!

1 – Subscribe to my RSS feed. (sidebar)
1 – Follow me on Twitter AND leave your Twitter name here. (sidebar)
1 – Tweet this giveaway.
1 – Friend me on Facebook. (sidebar)
1 – Blog about this giveaway, including a link here.
1 – Place my button on your blog. (in sidebar)

Leave an additional comment for each entry you qualify for. You must have completed the first entry according to the instructions to be eligible for any bonus entries.

THE SMALL PRINT.

US addresses only please. This contest will end on Monday 09/19/10 at 11:59 pm est. If you’ve entered any of my giveaways before then you know that only comments containing all of the requested information will be eligible for entry. The winner must contact me to confirm they wish to receive the prize within two days of my email notifying them they’ve won. Good luck to everyone!

The product(s) featured in this review was provided free of cost to me for the sole purpose of product testing and review. This review has not been monetarily compensated and is based on the views and opinions of my family and/or self. Please note that the opinions reflected in this post have not been influenced by the sponsor in any way.

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED.

54 Comments on “Scrabble Turbo Slam Review And Giveaway”

  1. #1 Christine Jensen
    on Sep 9th, 2011 at 9:37 am

    OUr family favorite is Sorry

  2. #2 Christine Jensen
    on Sep 9th, 2011 at 9:38 am

    feed subscriber

  3. #3 Christine Jensen
    on Sep 9th, 2011 at 9:38 am

    twitter follower as @stickyprints

  4. #4 Christine Jensen
    on Sep 9th, 2011 at 9:39 am

    facebook friend

  5. #5 Vickie Couturier
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 11:03 am

    we always play Scrabble

    vlbelk(at)hotmail.com

  6. #6 Vickie Couturier
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 11:04 am
  7. #7 Vickie Couturier
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 11:04 am

    button
    vlbelk(at)hotmail.com
    http://vickiecouturier.blogspot.com/

  8. #8 Vickie Couturier
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 11:05 am

    Subscribe to your RSS feed.via google reader
    vlbelk(at)hotmial.com

  9. #9 Vickie Couturier
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 11:06 am

    follow u on twitter @vickiecouturier
    vlbelk(at)Hotmail.com

  10. #10 Vickie Couturier
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 11:06 am

    friend you on facebook
    vickiecouturier
    vlbelk(at)hotmail.com

  11. #11 Peggy
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    favorite game would be Trouble

    sweetheart4171(at)yahoo(dot)com

  12. #12 Peggy
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    following via twitter (@sweetheart4171)

    sweetheart4171(at)yahoo(dot)com

  13. #13 Peggy
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    tweeted
    http://twitter.com/sweetheart4171/status/112559080266153984

    sweetheart4171(at)yahoo(dot)com

  14. #14 Peggy
    on Sep 10th, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    fb friend

    sweetheart4171(at)yahoo(dot)com

  15. #15 Andrea v
    on Sep 11th, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Connect 4 is my favorite

  16. #16 Andrea v
    on Sep 11th, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Email subscriber

  17. #17 Andrea v
    on Sep 11th, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Follow you on twitter
    Vickers2622

  18. #18 Andrea v
    on Sep 11th, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Friend on facebook

  19. #19 nan
    on Sep 11th, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    i love clue
    nannypanpan at gmail.com

  20. #20 nan
    on Sep 11th, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    rss subscriber

  21. #21 Patty White
    on Sep 12th, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Sorry is my favorite Hasbro game!!

  22. #22 Patty White
    on Sep 12th, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    Follow you on twitter ~ Patty432

  23. #23 Patty White
    on Sep 12th, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    Friend on facebook

  24. #24 Rhonda M.
    on Sep 12th, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    I love Yahtzee. :)

  25. #25 Rhonda M.
    on Sep 12th, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    I follow you on Twitter.

    @YummyBoyMummy

  26. #26 Rhonda M.
    on Sep 12th, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    I friended you on FB.

    Rhonda M.

  27. #27 Megan
    on Sep 12th, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Scrabble has to be my favorite hasbro game!

  28. #28 Johannah B
    on Sep 13th, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Scrabble has always been the favorite in our house… and my parent’s house as well. It really was great and helped alot with learning meanings, spellings, etc.
    1prizewinner at gmail dot com

  29. #29 Johannah B
    on Sep 13th, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    I follow on Twitter
    Twitter name: 1prizewinner

  30. #30 tree
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 7:35 am

    My family loves Sorry, we play it almost every night!! thank you for the chance!

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  31. #31 tree
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 7:36 am

    i Subscribe to your RSS feed.

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  32. #32 tree
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 7:36 am

    i follow on twitter!

    @patchouligirl91

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  33. #33 tree
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 7:36 am

    i’m a facebook friend! tree tiemeyer

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  34. #34 tree
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 7:37 am

    i have your button!

    http://theenchantedtree.blogspot.com/

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  35. #35 tree
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 7:39 am
  36. #36 karen M
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Monopoly and Operation is our favorite

  37. #37 karen M
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 11:23 am

    feed subscriber

  38. #38 karen M
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 11:24 am

    twitter follower-gummasplace

  39. #39 karen M
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 11:24 am

    facebook friend -Gumma Medlin

  40. #40 karen M
    on Sep 14th, 2011 at 11:25 am

    rt-http://twitter.com/#!/gummasplace/status/113996689135779840

  41. #41 Natalie A.
    on Sep 15th, 2011 at 1:52 am

    I like the game Boggle and Candy Land! Thanks!

  42. #42 Natalie A.
    on Sep 15th, 2011 at 1:53 am

    I’m a subscriber!

  43. #43 Natalie A.
    on Sep 15th, 2011 at 1:53 am

    I follow you on Twitter! @natdey

  44. #44 Natalie A.
    on Sep 15th, 2011 at 1:54 am

    I like you on FB! Natalie Ahotaeilo…

  45. #45 Natalie A.
    on Sep 15th, 2011 at 1:55 am
  46. #46 Stephanie Phelps
    on Sep 17th, 2011 at 1:28 am

    Monoply is families all time favorite :)

  47. #47 Stephanie Phelps
    on Sep 17th, 2011 at 1:29 am

    I subscribe to your posts through Email and rss feed
    my4boysand1@gmail.com

  48. #48 Stephanie Phelps
    on Sep 17th, 2011 at 1:29 am

    I Follow you on twitter @my4boysand1

  49. #49 Stephanie Phelps
    on Sep 17th, 2011 at 1:30 am

    I am a friend of yours on FB (Stephanie Phelps)

  50. #50 Ashley
    on Sep 18th, 2011 at 9:31 am

    I love bop it!
    ashleygatewood1 (AT) gmail.com

  51. #51 Ashley
    on Sep 18th, 2011 at 9:32 am

    rss subscriber
    ashleygatewood1 (AT) gmail.com

  52. #52 Ashley
    on Sep 18th, 2011 at 9:33 am

    following on twitter @shuggysmommy
    ashleygatewood1 (AT) gmail.com

  53. #53 Ashley
    on Sep 18th, 2011 at 9:34 am

    we are friends on facebook (ashleyg)
    ashleygatewood1 (AT) gmail.com

  54. #54 Ashley
    on Sep 18th, 2011 at 9:36 am