Here and There – A New Jersey Blogger on Family, Travel, Photography, Movie and Product Reviews Rotating Header Image

Saltwater Taffy Book Review And Giveaway

Saltwater Taffy Book Cover

I just spent the afternoon reading a promo copy of Eric Delabarre‘s juvenile fiction novel Saltwater Taffy (illustrator R. C.Nelson).  I myself have loved books and reading since I was a little girl, and I enjoyed this one.  Let me tell you a little about this treasure hunt set in the 1970′s in Port Townsend, Washington.

Salt Water Taffy‘s introductory chapters, “The Death of a Great Pirate” and “Barataria Bay” set the mood for  the  adventure of a lifetime.  When five friends, Scott, older brother Gary, tomboy Jaq, inventor Ziggy, and underachiever Jimmy become drawn into the search for the gold of New Orleans pirate Jean Lafitte, they learn a lot about themselves and the people around them.  Scott narrates the story  of him as a thirteen-year-old growing and finding himself in the midst typical adolescent struggles, mischief, and baseball rivalry.

Scott learns more about what makes him tick when he is double crossed by false friend Harrison, ripped off by bully Tommy Osbourne and his thugs, and dissed by heartthrob Brandy Larson.  He learns good lessons like sportsmanship, loss, and consequences when adults like Jensen’s Ice Cream Parlor owner Fatman, one-legged junk yard man Chevy Hergenrader, bully opposing team Coach Osborne, and creepy Old Man Sheesley add into the mix.   In his quest for pirate booty, he makes judgments like

If you had one part of a treasure map, just how far would you go to solve the mystery?

What would you dare?

Who would you trust?

“NEVER, EVER, EVER GIVE UP,” is the point of Saltwater Taffy. Scott grows up as things become complicated and dangerous.  Still good prevails and one story ends well leaving room for another….

Saltwater Taffy (ISBN 99780972357807), released in hardcover January 11, 2011, lists at $15.95.  Its publisher is Seven Publishing.  This book aimed at tween middle school readers is available in bookstores like Barnes & Noble and Borders, on ebook, and online at Amazon.  Its 259 pages provide a good read, a Saltwater Taffy Treasure Hunt, and a writers’ contest opportunity at the site www.whatagreatbook.com.

WIN IT!

ONE winner will receive a copy of Saltwater Taffy.

HOW TO ENTER. (MANDATORY)

To enter leave a comment on this post telling me why you’re looking forward to reading this book.

BONUS ENTRIES – LOTS OF THEM!

1 – Subscribe to my newsletter. (sidebar)
1 – Subscribe to my RSS feed. (sidebar)
1 – Follow me on Twitter AND leave your Twitter name here. (sidebar)
1 – Tweet this giveaway.
1 – Friend me on Facebook. (sidebar)
1 – Blog about this giveaway, including a link here.
1 – Place my button on your blog. (in sidebar)

Leave an additional comment for each entry you qualify for. You must have completed the first entry according to the instructions to be eligible for any bonus entries.

THE SMALL PRINT.

US addresses only please. This contest will end on Sunday 02/06/11 at 11:59 pm est. If you’ve entered any of my giveaways before then you know that only comments containing all of the requested information will be eligible for entry. The winner must contact me to confirm they wish to receive the prize within two days of my email notifying them they’ve won. Good luck to everyone!

The product(s) featured in this review was provided free of cost to me for the sole purpose of product testing and review. This review has not been monetarily compensated and is based on the views and opinions of my family and/or self. Please note that the opinions reflected in this post have not been influenced by the sponsor in any way.

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED.

35 Comments on “Saltwater Taffy Book Review And Giveaway”

  1. #1 Hot Links of the Week – January 26 : An Island Life
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 5:04 am

    [...] – Pillsbury Simply prize pack (Feb 5) From Val’s Kitchen – Soup Day (Feb 6) Here And There – Saltwater Taffy (Feb 6) Mommy Living the Life of Riley! – $100 My Wonderful Walls Gift [...]

  2. #2 Tawna
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 7:42 am

    My children are at the age where they love to read books. My 4 year old pretends to read them by herself all the time, we would love to sit together and read this book!

    Tawna

  3. #3 Tawna
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 7:43 am

    I just friended you on FB
    Tawna Crawford Richard
    tawna6988 AT gmail DOT com

  4. #4 Tawna
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 7:44 am

    I follow on twitter
    ID tawna6988

  5. #5 Contests January 26,2011 « No Time Mommy NY Mom Blogger
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 9:25 am

    [...] Here and There-saltwater taffy/2/6/11 [...]

  6. #6 Larry H.
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I have only recently began reading chapter books to our 5-year old, one chapter per night before bed. Judging by your review and the really cool cover I think this might be a good one for my preschool pirate.

  7. #7 Larry H.
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I subscribe by email
    cakeblast [at] gmail [dot] com

  8. #8 Larry H.
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I subscribe to your RSS with Google Reader
    cakeblast [at] gmail [dot] com

  9. #9 Larry H.
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    I follow you on twitter as @cakeblast

  10. #10 Larry H.
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 1:26 pm
  11. #11 Larry H.
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    I have your button on my blog sidebar

    http://cakeblast.com

  12. #12 Daily Woman
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    I am looking forward to reading this book with my son. He would love it.

  13. #13 Daily Woman
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    I subscribe via Google Reader

  14. #14 Daily Woman
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    I follow you on Twitter @ASDsupportNC

  15. #15 Daily Woman
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 6:12 pm
  16. #16 Tweets that mention Saltwater Taffy Book Review And Giveaway – Here and There – Family, Travel and Product Reviews -- Topsy.com
    on Jan 26th, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Susannah Greenberg, lwlong. lwlong said: Saltwater Taffy Book Review And Giveaway – http://bit.ly/hT0wxA [...]

  17. #17 Marj M.
    on Jan 27th, 2011 at 7:15 am

    I would love to read this book with my grandson.
    gourdsrmylife(at)yahoo(dot)com

  18. #18 Marj M.
    on Jan 27th, 2011 at 7:16 am

    I’m an email subscriber.
    gourdsrmylife(at)yahoo(dot)com

  19. #19 Eric DelaBarre
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Love this giveaway idea!!!! Hope you all love the story of Saltwater Taffy. I’m in Dallas today and have been touring for 2 solid weeks. SOOOOOOO ready to be home, but it’s one more signing today and then a BOYS & GIRLS CLUB of Dallas visit. Enjoy the read and GOOD LUCK!!!

    Eric DelaBarre
    Author: SALTWATER TAFFY

  20. #20 Christine Jensen
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    HOnestly I love the name. Who doesn’t want to read a book named for candy, and here in Utah we know our Saltwater Taffy

  21. #21 nan
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    this seems like a great book for my nephew
    nannypanpan at sbcglobal.net

  22. #22 nan
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    rss subscriber

  23. #23 tree
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    This sounds like a book my son would really enjoy! He loves to read! i’d love to win it for him.
    thanks for the chance!

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  24. #24 tree
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    i’m an email subscriber!

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  25. #25 tree
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    i’m subscribed to your RSS via Google reader!

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  26. #26 tree
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    i follow you on twitter

    http://twitter.com/patchouligirl91

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  27. #27 tree
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    i’m a friend on facebook! tree tiemeyer

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  28. #28 tree
    on Jan 28th, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    i have your button on my blog! (left column)

    http://theenchantedtree.blogspot.com/

    enchantedtree(at)hotmail.com

  29. #29 Susie
    on Jan 29th, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    My girls and I read together every evening. We love books with purpose and personal growth!! Your book sounds like a must read! I look forward to reading this book and experiencing another adventure with my daughters.

  30. #30 annaliza
    on Jan 30th, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    my son would love to read this book as it seems like it has the elements he likes: adventure, boy antics and practical lessons in his language. thanks for the opportunity!

  31. #31 Victoria Lester
    on Feb 6th, 2011 at 6:08 am

    I want to read this book because a search for gold is always intriguing – my daughter would enjoy reading this I’m sure.
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

  32. #32 Victoria Lester
    on Feb 6th, 2011 at 6:09 am

    I LIKE you on facebook – I’m victoria liester
    flophasit at yahoo dot com
    entry 1

  33. #33 Victoria Lester
    on Feb 6th, 2011 at 6:10 am

    I follow you on twitter – I’m @win_giveaways
    flophasit at yahoo dot com
    entry 1

  34. #34 Victoria Lester
    on Feb 6th, 2011 at 6:11 am

    Your button is on my blog on the right side column:
    http://www.waltdisneyworldtravel.blogspot.com
    flophasit at yahoo dot com
    entry 1

  35. #35 Victoria Lester
    on Feb 6th, 2011 at 6:12 am

    I subscribed via email and confirmed
    flophasit at yahoo dot com
    entry 1