Here and There – A New Jersey Blogger on Family, Travel, Photography, Movie and Product Reviews Rotating Header Image

My Name is Not Alexander Review And Giveaway

My Name Is Not Alexander Cover

My Name is Not Alexander

  • Author: Jennifer Fosberry
  • Illustrator: Mike Litwin
  • Reading level: Ages 4-8
  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky (March 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402254334
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402254338
  • Price: $16.99

Historically, Greek conqueror Alexander the Great, Russian emperor Alexander the Blessed, and Roman saint Pope Alexander the First were individuals.  They led while others followed.  They were strong individuals.  Far better than being a boy named Sue.  How could any namesake not take a little of them?

Prior to the holidays I reviewed Jennifer Fossbery’s hardcover children’s book My Name Is Not Isabella.  I loved the message it sent to little girls that women can achieve great things.  I wished that there was another book for little boys with the same message.  That follow-up story has now been written.  It is titled My Name Is Not Alexander.  In it a small boy finds his identity.

When Alexander says, “My Name is not Alexander,” he is opening himself to new worlds and new experiences.  He is finding himself.  As a little boy who dreams big, the  role models he idolizes influence who he is and who he will become. His role-playing of President Theodore Roosevelt, inventor Thomas Alva Edison, Native American Chief Joseph, entertainer Fred Astaire, athlete Jackie Robinson, and his own father expand his experiences.  As Alexander learns about heroic qualities like strength, curiosity, pride, showmanship, bravery, and parenting, he gains gain confidence and grows into his own person.

My Name Is Not Alexander has a one word moral – nurture.  Loved how the pictures include real moments like getting out of bed, brushing the teeth, playing, visiting grandma, and hanging out with dad.

WIN IT!

ONE winner will receive my Name Is Not Alexander.

HOW TO ENTER. (MANDATORY)

To enter leave a comment on this post telling me who you’ll listen to this with if you win.

BONUS ENTRIES – LOTS OF THEM!

1 – Subscribe to my newsletter. (sidebar)
1 – Subscribe to my RSS feed. (sidebar)
1 – Follow me on Twitter AND leave your Twitter name here. (sidebar)
1 – Tweet this giveaway.
1 – Friend me on Facebook. (sidebar)
1 – Blog about this giveaway, including a link here.
1 – Place my button on your blog. (in sidebar)

Leave an additional comment for each entry you qualify for. You must have completed the first entry according to the instructions to be eligible for any bonus entries.

THE SMALL PRINT.

US addresses only please. This contest will end on Sunday 03/20/11 at 11:59 pm est. If you’ve entered any of my giveaways before then you know that only comments containing all of the requested information will be eligible for entry. The winner must contact me to confirm they wish to receive the prize within two days of my email notifying them they’ve won. Good luck to everyone!

The product(s) featured in this review was provided free of cost to me for the sole purpose of product testing and review. This review has not been monetarily compensated and is based on the views and opinions of my family and/or self. Please note that the opinions reflected in this post have not been influenced by the sponsor in any way.

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED.

31 Comments on “My Name is Not Alexander Review And Giveaway”

  1. #1 Stacie @ The Divine Miss Mommy
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 3:42 am

    I would read this with my youngest daughter. She loves to change her name!

  2. #2 Stacie @ The Divine Miss Mommy
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 3:44 am

    I am following you on Twitter. I am @StacieinAtlanta on Twitter.

  3. #3 Stacie @ The Divine Miss Mommy
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 3:45 am

    We are friends on Facebook. I am Stacie Connerty on Facebook.

  4. #4 debbie
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 7:57 am

    I would listen to this with my nephew.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  5. #5 debbie
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 7:57 am

    I am a email subscriber.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  6. #6 dianad
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 8:20 am

    We have two adorable grandsons we’d share this with. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway

  7. #7 dianad
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 8:21 am

    I am an email subscriber. Thanks

  8. #8 apple blossom
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 9:35 am

    my daughter will will listen to this with me.

    Thanks

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  9. #9 apple blossom
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 9:36 am

    email subscriber

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  10. #10 apple blossom
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 9:36 am

    button on blog

    http://abis-scrapsoflife.blogspot.com/

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  11. #11 andrea v
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    my son would enjoy this. thanks

  12. #12 andrea v
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    email subscriber

  13. #13 andrea v
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    follow you on twitter-vickers2622

  14. #14 andrea v
    on Mar 9th, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    friend on facebook

  15. #15 Marj M.
    on Mar 10th, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    I would read this to my great granddaughter.
    gourdsrmylife(at)yahoo(dot)com

  16. #16 Marj M.
    on Mar 10th, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    email subscriber
    gourdsrmylife(at)yahoo(dot)com

  17. #17 Marj M.
    on Mar 10th, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    Your button is posted on my website sidebar.
    gourdsrmylife(at)yahoo(dot)com

  18. #18 Raven In A Blue Room
    on Mar 11th, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    I’ll be giving this book to my 2 daughters

    Thank you for hosting this giveaway

    Louis
    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  19. #19 Raven In A Blue Room
    on Mar 11th, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I subscribed to your feed via google reader

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  20. #20 Raven In A Blue Room
    on Mar 11th, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    following you on twitter @left_the_stars

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  21. #21 Raven In A Blue Room
    on Mar 11th, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    I tweeted your giveaway

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  22. #22 Marci
    on Mar 19th, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    My youngest daughter would enjoy it.

  23. #23 Marci
    on Mar 19th, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Email Subscriber!

  24. #24 Marci
    on Mar 19th, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Twitter Follower!

  25. #25 Marci
    on Mar 19th, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    FB Fan!

  26. #26 Janet F
    on Mar 21st, 2011 at 5:45 am

    I would read this with my grandson.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  27. #27 Janet F
    on Mar 21st, 2011 at 5:45 am

    Email subscribed.

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  28. #28 Janet F
    on Mar 21st, 2011 at 5:45 am

    I follow you on Twitter – Janetfaye

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  29. #29 Janet F
    on Mar 21st, 2011 at 5:46 am

    FB friend – Janet Fri

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  30. #30 Janet F
    on Mar 21st, 2011 at 5:46 am

    Your button is on my sidebar:
    http://blog-giveaways.blogspot.com/

    janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

  31. #31 Contests March 21, 2011 « No Time Mommy NY Mom Blogger
    on Mar 21st, 2011 at 9:47 am

    [...] Here and There-My Name Is Not Alexander/3/20/11 [...]